Humbling

It really is quite humbling to own this house. I think its because not only is it well known but it has peaked the interest of many over the years. Every time I meet a new contractor out there or friend to show them around they are just in awe. Most times they ask if I mind if they take pictures to show to their friend, co worker, etc. The appreciation for the craftsmanship of this house is just remarkable.

Then there are the occasions when acquaintances realize its me who bought the place. Everyone around town saw it go up for sale. (well everyone except me it seems). And everyone saw it go fast. I walked in to pick up my son from getting his hair cut to, “your son just told me what house you just bought!!” or, the txt, “I just heard from so and so that you are the one that bought the yellow house with the tower! Is that true?” Maybe its a biased sampling because the people I associate with all have similar interests or we have done projects together in the past but it does kind of feel like I’m the cool kid on the block. This coming from the shy girl who just tried to pass under the radar in high school had a total of 2 friends and didn’t come into her own until mid 30s. Oh well, maybe this house is going to help me just as much as I hope to help it.

Leave a comment